2

If I attack with Jor Kadeen, can I play Embercleave for 5 (-1) before the attack trigger resolves, making them a 4/4 and drawing 1? or do I have to pay the full 6 and play it earlier?

The attacking/blocking phase timings have changed multiple times in my play memory.. so more generally, are creatures considered attacking immediately when they are declared attackers, do their triggers need to resolve first (step change), or something else?


Jor Kadeen, First Goldwarden has a trigger "Whenever Jor Kadeen attacks .." and Embercleave counts attacking creatures "This spell costs {1} less to cast for each attacking creature you control." and can be played instantly due to Flash.

Jor Kadeen is also clear in their rulings that their desirable calculation is done once during ability resolution (hooray) "The value of X is determined only once, as the triggered ability resolves. If the number of equipped creatures you control changes after that time, it won't change the bonus granted."

Jor Kadeen Embercleave

2 Answers 2

2

You can cast Embercleave with the discount before Jor Kadeen's trigger resolves.

Rules section 508 describes the declare attackers step, and rules 501.1k and m describe the last two steps of declaring attackers:

508.1k. Each chosen creature still controlled by the active player becomes an attacking creature. It remains an attacking creature until it's removed from combat or the combat phase ends, whichever comes first. See rule 506.4.

508.1m. Any abilities that trigger on attackers being declared trigger.

So, each creature that attacks is considered "attacking" before any triggers even go on the stack.

1

You can play Embercleave after attacking and still draw a card.

The sequence is:

  1. Declare attackers
  2. Creatures become attacking and triggers are placed on the stack.
  3. Cast and resolve discounted Embercleave
    • +1/+1 to 3/3
  4. Resolve triggered ability
    • Counts 1 equipped creature, +1/+1 to a 4/4
    • Checks power and draw a card

A rule which is relevant in similar situations but not here that might cause confusion is 603.4. Normally, a triggered ability with an "if" would not trigger if the condition is not met; but, in this case, because not all of the trigger is conditional, it only needs to be satisfied on resolution.

603.4. A triggered ability may read “When/Whenever/At [trigger event], if [condition], [effect].” When the trigger event occurs, the ability checks whether the stated condition is true. The ability triggers only if it is; otherwise it does nothing. If the ability triggers, it checks the stated condition again as it resolves. If the condition isn’t true at that time, the ability is removed from the stack and does nothing. Note that this mirrors the check for legal targets. This rule is referred to as the “intervening ‘if’ clause” rule. (The word “if” has only its normal English meaning anywhere else in the text of a card; this rule only applies to an “if” that immediately follows a trigger condition.)

New contributor
unDeadHerbs is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering. Check out our Code of Conduct.

You must log in to answer this question.

Start asking to get answers

Find the answer to your question by asking.

Ask question

Explore related questions

See similar questions with these tags.